2015 Costumes in review and next years schedule

This year has been successful as I completed a number of costumes and left a few behind to be finished at a later time. I thought it would be fun to go through all of this years costumes and then make a list of whats going to happen next year.

2015

Sisters at Sea
The first costume I made in 2015 was a replica WW1 New Zealand Nurse uniform for a school play which I also stared in. This costume was made in class time and took roughly 3 weeks of work.

Temple Priest Robes (Skyrim)
This cosplay was being made at home while I worked on my WW1 Nurse Uniform at school. Honestly I lost interest in this costume because I was disappointed in how the dyed robes came out. The color was dull and I really should have tried re dying them before I sewed layers upon layers of bias tap on but it was far too late for me to do this when I realized I hated it. I have this costume hanging up at home in a different room from my sewing room so I don’t have to look at it and that seams to be working! I may finish this costume next year but honestly I have more important components that need to be in my portfolio. I am not happy with this costume at all

Dragon Scale Armour (Skyrim)
Once I had given up on the Temple Priest robes I started on the armour made from 6mm EVA foam for this costume while working on the (battle) dress in my fashion and textiles class. This was my first time working with EVA foam both to try it out and prepare myself for working with worbla in the future. It was certainly a mission that’s for sure. Lots of painting involved and I think I improved a little on that skill. I loved doing the photo shoot with my photographer it was an amazing experience and can’t wait for next years shoots. This costume was finished just before the convention I wore it to in late October.

Dark Brotherhood Armour (Skyrim)
Over all this costume was made in 3-4 days and was a reasonably easy build, not so easy to wear. The major mistake I made with this costume was top sewing a non stretch fabric (cotton) onto a stretch fabric (spandex) which restricted the moment I had in the suit to very little. I did love wearing this costume and got some great photos with people at the con including JenofMidgard who is so lovely! I will need to re shoot this costume next year as I stupidly forgot the belts in the first shoot. And I will of course have my hood up in the photos, another thing I forgot.

Lucina (Fire Emblem Awakening)
This costume is un-finished but I defiantly have plans to finish it next year in between projects or when I’m bored of a project and need a break from it. I’m pleased with hows its looking so far and will do a photo shoot in it at some point.

Nightingale Armour, Re-paint (Skyrim)
This costume was completed in 2014 but I decided to repaint it all for a photo shoot I was having in late November for the other two costumes I had made this year. I re-painted the whole costume with liquid ‘kiwi’ shoe polish until the paint layer was even. I then went around the outline edges with a white paint pen to add some extra detail.

And that’s it for costumes made in 2015 I don’t think I have missed anything. Moving onto next years costumes!

2016 These costumes are in a vague order

Demongaze Death Knight Armour (World of Warcraft)
What will be my first worbla build along with working with other new materials . My first full post on this is here where I break the armour down and talk about how I’m going to go about making it.

Young Girl’s Evening Dress (Historical dress)
This dress will be the first costume with a historical aspect for my portfolio. I love the era this dress is from and had to make something from that era. I adore hanging sleeves and wanted to make the dress and the cloak/cape as soon as I saw it.
pretty dfresee

Sansa Stark (Game of Thrones)
I love the character of Sansa and decided I wanted to make one of her dresses while watch the series. I really like how modest her dresses are and like the styles of most of them, not so much season 1 as she was still quite childish. The dress I decided on was the one she wears a lot in season 3 similar to the Dragonfly dress.


Ophelia, Georges-Jules-Victor Clairin (Ophelia in blue)
Another goal of mine for next year is to make a dress based of a painting. I’ve always liked the famous painting Ophelia by John Everett Millais but decided that dress wasn’t what I wanted to make so I kept searching and fell upon the painting by Georges-Jules-Victor Clairin which I think is fantastic and I just love so much about the work. Because of the back ground of the painting I want to have a shoot for this dress in Autumn so it has the same striking effect the painting has. The dress looks simple enough to make and I should be able to drape and draft it on my dress form.
336px-Clairin_-_Ophelia

Queen of Shadows (Throne of glass series book 4 cover art)
This is a recent costume I decided to make and a full post about that is here. I have lots of plans for this costume already and will likely buy fabrics for it in London.
full front


And those are the five costume I will be making next year. There are some other costumes too which I will be making in my Fashion and Textiles class. I’m thinking about making a Tudor corset in that class but then again I’m making one that’s in-sewed into the dress for my Elizabethan dress so at the moment I’m debating if that is a greater skill shown to making a separate corset. There is also the Trash for Fashion show in March(?) which I will be entering obviously with an original concept. I am working on drawings for this so I may have a post about that later in the month.  And I will be entering the Bernina Shakespeare Costume Design Competition which I have started looking into for a character and inspiration.

And that’s my vague plan for this year!
Thank you for reading
-Nivera

 

 

2 thoughts on “2015 Costumes in review and next years schedule

  1. Thank you!! I must say your historical costumes are fantastic!! I’m relatively new to WordPress so I don’t follow that many costume blogs at the moment (I will follow those tagged by you) but I will carry out the award the best I can!

    Like

Leave a Reply

